Tuesday, October 10, 2023


1:00-1:10pmWelcome & Introduction
Abby Spencer
1:10-2:30pm – Workshops
1. Mindsets, Cognition and Well-Being: Stuart Slavin
2. Tech-Enhanced Learning at WUSM: An Overview & a Case Study: Carolyn Dufault, Carol Faulk, Ian Ross
3. Empowering Bedside Teaching: Integrating Diversity, Equity, Inclusion & Evidence Based Medicine: Dennis Chang, Amjad Musleh, Noor Riaz, Dale Thuet
2:30-2:45pm – Break
2:45-3:45pm – Roundtable Discussions
Carolyn Dufault, Brian Edelson, Amanda Emke, Ian Hagemann, ID Studio, Michelle Miller-Thomas, Joan Noelker, Brendan O’Connor, Jeramia Ory, Erin Stampp & Julie Woodhouse
Topics will include: AI, Assessment, Collaborating with the ID Studio, Medical School Prerequisites and the College to UME Transition, Promotions for Educators, Essentials of Slide Design, Fostering an Inclusive Space, Simulation
3:45-4:15pm – Keynote: Reimagining Well-Being Initiatives in Health Professions Education- Focusing on Environmental Change
Stuart Slavin
4:15-4:40pm – New Member Induction
Colleen Wallace and Ian Hagemann
4:40-5:00pm – Academy Awards
Megan Wren and Suzie Thibodeaux
5:00-5:45pm – Posters/Reception/Networking Session

Photo Galleries and Workshop Videos

Click here to view workshop and award videos.

Click here to view the full photo gallery.

2023 Academy Member Cohort

Alexander Aleem, MD, MSc, Associate Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

Neil Anderson, MD, D(ABMM), ABP-MM, Associate Professor of Pathology & Immunology

Christine Berg, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA, Professor of Occupational Therapy

Jessie Bricker, OTD, OTR/L, Instructor in Occupational Therapy

Beth Crowner, PT, DPT, NCS, MPPA, Professor of Physical Therapy

Alexis Elward, MD, MPH, Professor of Pediatrics

Tyler Fraum, MD, Assistant Professor of Radiology

Cylen Javidan, MD, Associate Professor of Radiology

Martin Kerrigan, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine

Mariam Malik, MD, Assistant Professor of Radiology

Katherine Massa, MD, Assistant Professor of Obstetrics & Gynecology

Rachel Moquin, EdD, Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology

Max Rosen, MD, Assistant Professor of Psychiatry

Tomi Toler, MS, CGC, Assistant Professor of Pediatrics

Quinn Tyminski, OTD, OTR/L, BCMH, Assistant Professor of Occupational Therapy

Saiama Waqar, MBBS, MSCI, Associate Professor of Medicine

Award Recipients

Lifetime Achievement Award

Suzanne Cornbleet, PT, DPT

Thomas De Fer, MD, MACP

Exemplary Educator Award

Ian Hagemann, MD, PhD

Michelle Miller-Thomas, MD

Tammy Sonn, MD

Rising Star Award

Megan Burgess, PT, DPT, OCS

Suzanne Thibodeaux, MD, PhD

Quinn Tyminski, OTD, OTR/L, BCMH