The Rising Star Award, established in 2021 by the Academy of Educators, recognizes a current Washington University faculty member within ten years of completing their training program who shows exceptional promise as an educator through contributions in one or more domains of educational service, leadership, or scholarship.

2022 Rising Star Recipients

Sara Greer, MD
Andrew Lee, MD
Amjad Musleh, MD
Nathan Olafsen, MD

2021 Rising Star Award Recipients

  • Joan P. Noelker, MD, MACM
  • Ilana Rosman, MD
  • Anup Shetty, MD
  • Lisa Zickuhr, MD

Applications Accepted: Spring 2023

Application review criteriacriteria matrix.

Rising Star Nomination Requirements

Before submitting your nomination, please review the following information to assist you in submitting an appropriate nomination.

  • Nominees are current faculty at Washington University.
  • Nominees are at the Instructor or Assistant Professor level.
  • Nominees have less than 6 years as faculty in an academic teaching setting. Academic appointments held prior to joining Washington University may be included.
  • The statement of qualifications should include how the nominee’s contributions align with the criteria matrix.
  • One letter of support from a faculty member validating the nominee’s contributions must be submitted at the time of the initial nomination. The nominator may list themselves as the letter writer.
  • Supplementary documentation examples can be provided if relevant and available.
Selection Committee: Academy of Educators Awards Subcommittee

Megan Wren, MD (Chair)

Suzie Thibodeaux, MD (Vice-Chair)

Michael Awad, MD

Steven Cheng, MD

Koong-Nah Chung, PhD

Erika Crouch, MD, PhD

Shelby Dickison, MD

Laura Hall, MD

Nigar Kirmani, MD

Steve Lawrence, MD

Michelle Miller-Thomas, MD

Nathan Olafsen, MD

Nandini Raghuraman, MD

Bethany Sacks, MD

Sharlene Teefey, MD

Paul Wise, MD