Sponsored by the Academy of Educators, Education Day is a special event consisting of learning about educational topics, a celebration of new inductees to the Academy of Educators and education-focused award recipients, and a networking session to wrap up the day. Education Day highlights all aspects of our educational mission and recognizes the educators making a difference in the lives of learners, mentees, and colleagues across the School of Medicine.

Academy events are for WUSM employees only.

SAVE THE DATE: 2024 Education Day

Tuesday, October 15, 2024
Eric P. Newman Education Center (EPNEC)
12:00pm – 6:00pm

Abstract Tutorials:

Tutorials for Writing an Effective Education Abstract, Creating an Effective Education Abstract Poster, and Creating an Effective Abstract Oral Presentation may be found here (Coming mid-March 2024).

Abstract Topics:

We are looking for a wide variety of abstracts representing both education research and innovative approaches to education across the health professions and across learner stages from undergraduate through post-graduate (including continuing education). Works in progress and submissions from students, residents & fellows are welcome. Submissions are encouraged on the following education-related topics:

  • Scholarship of teaching and learning
  • Course and curriculum development
  • Instructional design
  • Education delivery
  • Selection of learners (e.g., to enhance diversity and excellence in the field)
  • Assessing and supporting learners
  • Professional development of health professions educators

Abstract Submission Requirements:

Abstracts should be 200-300 words and must include the following sections:

  • Your name (does not count towards word count)
  • Your department or program (does not count toward word count)
  • Title (does not count towards word count)
  • What educational gap did your research or innovation project aim to address?
  • What was your research question or innovation project objective?
  • What did you do to address it? (i.e., research methods or approach to developing and evaluating educational innovation)
  • What were your results? (i.e., research results or description of innovation with results of its evaluation)
  • What did you learn? (i.e., implications of results and next steps)

Abstract Instructions:

The deadline for submissions is Wednesday, June 5th, 2024 at 11:59pm. Please submit your Abstract here.

There will be a limited opportunity for oral abstract presentations, which will be selected by the abstract review committee on the basis of quality and interest to the broad education community.

All abstracts will be peer reviewed and notification of the outcome of the review will be sent to the submitting author in July.

Please reach out to the Academy of Educators via e-mail at academyofeducators@wustl.edu with any questions.