The Exemplary Educator Award, established in 2022 by the Academy of Educators, recognizes a faculty member who is actively building a legacy as an educator through contributions in one or more domains of educational service, leadership, or scholarship.

2023 Exemplary Educator Award Recipients

Submission Dates: To be announced

Nomination review criteria: criteria matrix

Exemplary Educator Nomination Requirements

Before submitting your nomination, please review the following information to assist you in submitting an appropriate nomination.

  • Nominees are current faculty at Washington University.
  • Nominees have at least 6 years as faculty in an academic teaching setting. Academic appointments held prior to joining Washington University may be included.
  • The brief statement of qualifications should include how the nominee’s contributions align with the criteria matrix.
  • Nominee’s Curriculum Vitae (CV)
  • Nominee’s Clinician-Educator Portfolio (CEP) or a Summary of Educational Activities
  • Two individual faculty members must be listed who are willing to write a structured letter of support validating the nominee’s contributions. The nominator may list themselves as a letter writer. Both letters must be submitted at the time of nomination.
  • Supplementary documentation examples can be provided if relevant and available.
Exemplary Educator Award Recipients

2022 Exemplary Educator Award Recipients:

  • Amanda Emke, MD, MHPE
  • Patricia Kao, MD, MHPE, MS
  • Steve Taff, PhD, OTR/L, FNAP, FAOTA