Tuesday, October 11, 2022


1:00-1:10pmWelcome & Introduction
Dr. Abby Spencer
1:10-2:10pmSession 1a: Medical Podcasts in Medical Education
Dr. Paul Williams
Dr. Williams is host and co-creator of THE internal medicine podcast, The Curbsiders.  In this interactive session, he will discuss the role podcasts play in medical education, and walk the audience through critical appraisals of podcast segments to determine what makes them effective tools for younger generations of learners.
1:10-2:10pmSession 1b: Creating and Implementing a Safe Learning Climate for Today’s Learners
Drs. Lisa Moscoso and Jenny Duncan
In this session, the facilitators will discuss ways to foster a safe and inclusive environment for learners.  Topics ranging from generational inclusivity and perceptions of mistreatment will be discussed.
2:10-2:50pm – Roundtable Discussions
Druv Bhagavan, Ariella Coler-Reilly, Jenny Duncan, Amanda Emke, Ian Hagemann, Patricia Kao, Ken Ludmerer, Tammy Sonn, and Julie Woodhouse
Topics will include simulation, the learning environment, teaching pathways, assessment, social media, growth mindset, and GME milestones and CCCs.
2:50-3:50pm – Session 2a: Assessment and Feedback for Today’s Learners
Drs. Amanda Emke, Dominique Cosco, Colleen Wallace and Eve Colson
The facilitators will address the role of formative feedback, feedback seeking and receiving behaviors, gathering and responding to feedback from students, and managing learner expectations.
2:50-3:50pm – Session 2b: Active Learning Techniques in the Gateway Curriculum
Drs. Steven Cheng, Brian Edelson, Erika Crouch and student representatives Zach Neronha, Yupeng Liu, and Jacob Strelnikov
This panel of educators and student representatives will review successful examples of active learning in Gateway curriculum.  They will explore the design and implementation of these pedagogies from both a facilitator and learner perspective.
3:50-4:00pm – Break
4:00-4:30pm – Keynote Speaker
Dr. Paul Williams
Paul Williams is an internist, clinician-educator, and podcaster, hailing from York, Pennsylvania and now working in Philadelphia. His professional interests include medical education and bedside medicine. When he’s not pursuing his interests in medical education and transitions of care, Paul engages in the most insufferable kind of musical, cinematic, and literary snobbery. He can be reached at thecurbsiders@gmail.com.
4:30-4:55pm – New Member Induction
Dr. Amy Bauernfeind
4:55-5:15pm – Academy Awards
Drs. Suzie Thibodeaux and Colleen Wallace
5:15-6:10pm – Posters/Reception/Networking Session
For those with a poster proposal, easels will be available in the lobby of EPNEC the afternoon of October 11. Posters should be designed no larger than 32″ high and 24″ wide and made of foam board. Vertical or horizontal orientation is acceptable. You may drop off the posters at the EPNEC office anytime on Friday, October 7, Monday, October 10 after 2:00, or anytime on October 11.

Photo Galleries and Workshop Videos

Click here to view workshop and award videos.

Click here to view the full photo gallery.

2022 Academy Member Cohort

Amjad Musleh, MD, Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Emergency Medicine

Andrew  Lee, MD, Assistant Professor, Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences

Bernadette Henrichs, PhD, CRNA, CCRN, CHSE, FAANA, Professor of Anesthesiology

Carol Faulk, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine

Donna Jeffe, PhD, Professor of Medicine

Eileen Lee, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine

Jacob AuBuchon, MD, Associate Professor of Anesthesiology

James Duncan, MD, PhD, Professor of Radiology

Laura Hall, MD, Assistant Professor of Pediatrics

Maleewan Kitcharoensakkul, MD, MSCI, Assistant Professor of Pediatrics

Nandini Raghuraman, MD, MSCI, Assistant Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Pamela Woodard, MD, HM Wilson Professor of Radiology

Rakhee Bhayani, MD, Professor of Medicine

Richard Dunham, MD, MS, Professor of Neurology

Award Recipients

Lifetime Achievement Award

Paul Bridgman, PhD

Douglas Char, MD

Lawrence Snyder, MD, PhD

Megan Wren, MD

Exemplary Educator Award

Amanda Emke, MD, MHPE

Patricia Kao, MD

Steven Taff, PhD, OTR/L, FNAP, FAOTA

Rising Star Award

Sara Greer, MD

Andrew Lee, MD

Amjad Musleh, MD

Nathan Olafsen, MD